'Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Media has become an essential source of information in this globalized era. It's believed that news channels should focus more on local news rather than continuous broadcasting of international affairs since the local population feels more resonated with the former. However, from my perspective, I believe that-- due to globalization--knowledge of foreign affairs is as necessary as one's own regional affairs; hence, more and more should be televised on news channels. To commence with, a comprehensive knowledge of foreign affairs is essential to predict upcoming changes or challenges. Because of globalization, issues of a nation are no longer confined to its boundaries only but can have extended effects on its neighbours as well. For example, the presidential elections in America are something that every other state awaits, since it will be determining what kind of relations America will have with its immediate allies or other eastern nations. Hence, if individuals are aware of the bigger forces at play, they can already expect how changes in another country can affect them on their own. Moreover, broadcasts of international affairs can help the audience to broaden their horizons of knowledge and be better prepared with appropriate solutions to expected issues. For instance, a person who regularly follows global news already knows the ongoing market trends and can easily understand the factors affecting those statistics. This understanding can guide them to be financially prepared for the upcoming wave of inflation or economic boom. This is how global information can expand peoples areas of thinking and ultimately guide them towards readiness. To conclude, awareness of foreign issues can not only position folks for the forthcoming shifts in global power play but also help in expanding their conventional domains of thinking. Therefore, global affairs should be the priority of media channels and adequate funding should be allocated for that.