Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about the responsibility of shaping kids into good citizens. Some people believe home is the best place to learn the attitudes and morals, while others argue school is the better place for it. This essay will discuss both perspectives before presenting my personal thought that parents are the most responsible side for this aspect. A major advantage why parents are better positioned in guiding moral values is that they are a child’s first and influential teachers. From an early age, children are good at imitating their parent’s behaviours. This daily exposure allows parents to lead by example, whether it is for greeting people, respecting others, and being honest. For instance, in Japan, children usually watch their parents show respect and greet to the elderly, they are more likely to adopt the same actions. Hence, the home environment plays a crucial role in shaping children to become a responsible part of society. On the other hand, schools are essential for guiding children on how to behave appropriately. School is designed as a formal institution to build the social values like discipline, respect and cooperation. Additionally, children can learn and practice at the same time with their colleagues and tutors. For example, in a team project, they can learn how to share their opinions and listen respectfully to others. Moreover, this kind of practice is important to build empathy and to be cooperative in their environment. In summary, both home and school environments are vital for a child’s social and educational development. However, in my view, parenting plays a more significant role in shaping a child’s character, as it lays the foundation for their behaviour from an early age.