Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, It is argued by some people that any criminal have to be sent to jail when he or she commits a crime while others believe that different measures should be used. In this essay I will look into both views and give my own opinion on the matter in detail. On the one hand, people in favour of sending offenders to prison have valid reasons for that. Firstly, it might be said that, prison is special facility that urge criminals to understand and feel results of their wrong actions. In other words, restrictions, limitations and strict rules demotivate law breakers to re-offend. For example one of the my relatives who served time in prison does not want to go back there. After release he choice life without a crime. Secondly modern jails have training programs aimed at training inmates to acquire professions. That is to say, they have a good opportunity to learn about job that will change their aims and outlook while doing time behind bars. Take a Japan as an example, in there, according to statistics 60 percent of inmates who have a good profession and diploma never commit a crime again. On the other hand, there is an argument that criminals can be rehabilitate through other methods than sending them to prison. In other words, instead of sentencing criminal to time in prison, we should attract them in other useful works. As a result, they work beneficially for society and feel important and useful to the general public. As this kind of feelings to urge people never re-offend when they are released. In conclusion, although it is common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals, I believe it is not necessary in majority of cases. Personally, I think prison should be the last option when all else has failed.