Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country, others say that thes are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss these views and give your own opinion.

Knowledge of an international language is an asset. While few believe that the purpose of possessing a new linguistic skill is only for jobs and leisure, others argue that this learning is lifelong and attributes more advantages such as cultural awareness and higher studies. This essay will examine further merits before presenting my perspective. Familiarization of linguistics since earlier times is believed to be advantageous. In recent years, the boom of Multinational companies in various countries has propelled the thought of learning a second language, as per the needs of the organisation. This is mainly due to international clients with whom the employees have to interact and execute their duties on a daily basis. This communication becomes easier if both sides have a common expression. With the growing demand, many enterprises also arrange for instructors to impart the desired language to their workforce. This effort, no doubt, leads to better relationships at work and the growth of business. Additionally, international travel is on the rise. This further adds to the desire to speak in the dialect of the country where one intends to go. For instance, it becomes essential to speak French when one is visiting various regions of France or even when one travels to Quebec in Canada. Lack of language skills in such countries might prevent us from enjoying the place fully. Moreover, knowing a new language opens many doors, particularly for students, to study abroad. This is because many foreign Universities, these days, demand the prospective candidate to at least have a basic understanding of their official language. So, aspiring learners must join a course and obtain the required certification. Furthermore, when we learn a new language, we also learn the history, culture, art of living and even the scope of this new skill. In this way, we try to acquaint ourselves with world history, which is a passion for a few individuals. This knowledge further enhanced our travel experience. In conclusion, acquiring a new linguistic skill offers a myriad of benefits in addition to travel and job. In my opinion, these skills add a feather to your cap and help in shaping your personality and career.