Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Studies show that reoffending among most convicts after being set free is quite common. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and propose viable measures to reduce recidivism. One of the primary contributing factors, if not the most, to the high rates of recidivism among prisoners is the failure of correctional facilities to address mental health issues. Jails often neglect the mental well-being of inmates, leaving them with the possibility of committing crimes again upon release. Statistics show that recidivism rates are far higher among individuals with mental illnesses and substance issues. Should they not be treated during incarceration and set free with a positive mindset shift, they are highly likely to revert to old habits. In addition, post-release unemployment puts convicts at a higher risk of sliding back into criminal behavior when they start to struggle to make a living. This economic strain may compel them to find illegal means of earning money. Thus, overlooking the importance of prisoners ' emotional well-being, coupled with their inability to secure employment, could lead them to return to prison. The rehabilitation of criminal justice emerges as a promising solution to tackle the challenges discussed above. This approach aims to assist offenders in understanding the mistakes that brought them to jail and preparing these individuals to re-enter society as reformed people. This method has proven effective in several Asian countries, implementing a system centered on thought reform. China, for example, primarily relies on thought reform, which instills standardized moral values into the prisoners, resulting in lower reoffending rates. In response to post-release unemployment, inmates should be provided with opportunities to enroll in courses that teach practical skills in high demand. This initiative helps to facilitate a fresh start for offenders, offering them a means of income and ultimately enabling them to turn over a new leaf and start leading a normal life. Therefore, adopting such rehabilitation strategies and equipping inmates with the necessary skillsets could be a major step toward reducing recidivism. In conclusion, prisoners indeed face many obstacles, such as the high possibility of returning to their drug use habits or finding a job. Rehabilitation and skill development addition in jails, nevertheless, appears to be highly effective methods to reduce reoffending rates.