Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some teenagers who are 18-19 years old. Therefore, think about getting so called gap year, a gap year is when someone instead of applying to university takes a year to travel or to think about what they want to do for their life. Some people say that this is a waste of time and others think that this is a chance to broaden their horizons. My thoughts about this topic are that a gap year is not a bad thing. If a person needs it to understand him/herself better, then why not. But of course, for others, it is a waste of time. Because it can give nothing to the person who took it. Moreover, many people take this year to travel, and travelling costs a lot of money. So, this is the usual reason why many people think that the gap year is a waste of time or not worth it. However, this year has its own benefits. For example, many people find what they are looking for, like what they want to do for life or they just see many places around the world which is a great experience. Moreover, this year a person can have more extracurricular activities and have more chances to get into the university. In conclusion, this is why I think that a gap year is not a bad thing. Of course, there's a chance that a person won't have any experience for that year, but at least he/she can get relaxation from school and constant pressure from others.