Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

Many people choose careers that do not match with their preferences or even their talents because they put money at the top priority. However, this can significantly cause mental health issues. This essay will first explain a reason for doing hated jobs, followed by its impacts. One of the main reasons why people still work for jobs that they do not like is they prioritize money over other aspects. It is undeniable that due to capitalism, financial stability is one of the most vital factors contributing to the quality of life. Most people desire a better life, forcing them to pay higher expenses. For example, if citizens want to purchase decent accommodations, send their kids to higher education, or even own luxuries, they have to earn higher income. Therefore, individuals are more likely to apply for high-paid jobs although they hate those careers or were not born for them. In terms of the effects of doing undesired jobs, this situation probably leads to mental health issues such as depression or burnout. By doing work that they do not feel fascinating and handling too much pressure, workers can be too stressed and their mental well-being will be worse. Additionally, if they choose careers that they are not good at, this also lowers their self-esteem, finally resulting in higher chances of being mentally sick. For instance, many Japanese workers are forced to work really hard since their costs of living are expensive; hence, the number of patients with depression has increased rapidly over the past few years, and suicide rates have grown up as well. In conclusion, because of higher expenditures and costs of living, individuals live their professional lives with higher-paid jobs that they do not like or have no talent in order to cover all expenses. Nevertheless, this situation has negative impacts on people's mental health, possibly causing severe mental health concerns such as depression and burnout.