Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

To date, social activities on the internet have become increasingly popular, leading to less connections in person. This trend has several impacts on society. While socializing online may pertain downside including loss of inter-person intimate bonding, and pose security issues, the internet can significantly remove traditional social barriers, and can greatly enhance intimacy and safeness through advances technologies. One notable drawback is the loss of intimate social bonding, and the personal ability to build one. For example, youths today are more used to playing games online with friends than playing basketball together outside. This change took away in-person social stimulus, such as reading gestures or facial expressions, from them. In turn, they may face difficulties building intimate relationship like marriage due to socially inappropriate behavior or frequent awkward misunderstandings. Moreover, security issues lurk underneath the screens. Without direct contact, it is hard to verify the true intent of the person on the other side of the internet, exposing people to safety risks. However, socializing online would indeed significantly remove a lot of social barriers. It would not only shorten the time to building connections but also would further broaden the potential social opportunities. For instance, suburb residents in a place where public commute is not prevalent can now reach out people from other village easily. In contrast, in the past, people could only build acquaintances of others through intermediate connections, such as by an introduction of a mutual friend. Furthermore, advances in the relevant sectors also bring features such as virtual video talks and identity check, greatly enhance intimacy and safeness. In conclusion, socializing online may have negative impacts on loss of inter-person intimate bonding, and threats to social security, whereas these impacts are not manageable. Meanwhile, socializing online actually brings people from different corners of the world together closer. Hence, this is a positive development.