In many countries, more and more people are competing for a place to study in universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many high school students are competing for seats in their further studies. This essay will analyse the main reasons behind this phenomenon. While there are a few negative aspects to this situation, I believe it is a positive development. There are many key reasons why entrance to universities is becoming challenging. Firstly, the number of high school graduates entering universities is rising steadily. For example, in Australia, a significant portion of high school aspirants are commencing their higher education courses at universities. Apart from this, many educational institutions are giving admissions only to talented students. Consequently, more people can apply with ease via the internet from any part of the world. This is a positive development because scholars can plan well in advance for getting their spot at the educational institution of their choice. This stance also encourages aspirants to make more efforts to attain higher grades in their studies. For instance, many educators are working hard to get their spot at Western Sydney University, which provides education to more than 40,000 students yearly from across the globe. However, this competition leads to stress among students, which is negatively impacting student performance in their studies. This situation sometimes contributes to suicide. As the competition increases, scholars are always looking to get admission to colleges where admission is difficult. They respond to this situation by applying to more colleges to increase their chances of success, which ends up negatively. In conclusion, there are many reasons for the increasing competition for academy entrance. Although it has a few disadvantages, it is advantageous for students in the long run.