In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Some secondary school graduates opt to attend work based training, while others prefer to start a bachelor degree in university. Each option will prepare young people to start their careers in a field of their choice, and this essay will discuss the advantages and drowbacks of work based training and university education. When a fresh highschool graduate start in a training programm to become a professional in the field, it gives them the chance to gain practical skills and experience the work environment first hand. This is a great benefit of this type of trainng, this is because it can equip them with the essential skills required to excel in their future careers. For example, a work based training programm in a manufacture would prepare the trainee to experience the challenges they could face and how to overcome them. And that could give them an advantage over university graduates On the other hand, optaining a higher education certificant is crucial in some professions. It provides them with the academic background and strong foundation required. In university, students gain in depth knowledge in the field and how to use it in their future profession, which work based training may lack. In addition, university education open a wider career options for graduates, unlike a training programm which may strict its graduates to a single job description. For example, a clinical nutrition graduate can work in hospitals, wellness centers, or even the FDA. In conclusion, work based training provides the practical skills to operate in the field, while university education provides the academic knowledge to students. From my point of view, work based training disadvantages outweigh its advantages, and more people should start their careers with gaining the critical education for it and gain the practical skills later on.