Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence.

The influence of sports individuals on youth is necessarily important regarding some’s viewpoints; others, however, claim that they might cause negative for them. I partly agree with the former assertion although the latter has some truth. On the one hand, many believe that several athletes can be role models for youth. They feel that sportsmen provide the individual with a positive attitude such as dedication, and hard-working skills which are needed to be a better person in life. Having seen the relevant theories and concepts, one can acquire this knowledge to himself, taking into account of advantages of those notions. Take Cristiano Ronaldo as an example, he can impart sufficient principles and how to behave both on and off the field since he possesses a positive behavior that allows people, particularly younger ones, to behave and look at the life positively. These qualities of a sportsperson cannot be ignored by the young generation. However, this argument pales in strength in comparison to the reasoning of the other view. I, however, subscribe to the idea which fails to be rejected that some athletes might influence negatively young people. First off, sometimes well-known people might exhibit a range of personal negative attitudes toward the people around them during the games or out of the field due to the unpleasant conditions that occurred around them or as it is a habit for them. Qualities such as dirty mimics, cursing, etc. are clear examples of witnessing their badly behaved spirits. There is no doubt that these unpleasant figures utterly affect them negatively since young generations have sympathy for them to imitate. In conclusion, while being a fan of sportsmen can provide as they are role models with positive characteristics, we cannot reject those of negative personalities which many youths might gain.