All over the world, the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. What problems does this cause? How can we overcome the problems of poverty? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although issues like poverty; unemployment and inflation are widely recognized as social evils and progress-threatening, the phenomenon of economic disparities in our society often goes overlooked. It's the problem from which other social issues like class divisions and never-ending poverty emanate. It is only through active involvement of government that equal distribution of wealth can be imagined. To begin with, it has only been because of financial disparity that different classes of people exist. In fact, if it wasn’t for a wide bridge between rich and poor, everybody would have been on the same levels of progress and equally able to afford similar facilities. For instance, there are people who own private jets and billionaire companies, but then, there are individuals who are struggling to survive. Even neighbourhoods in some metro cities are designated as per one’s social status. For example, there are slums with overly crowded populations and uncollected garbage where people in rags live. But for high-class people, the living areas are exceptionally clean and maintained. To tackle this issue, the government has to initiate and execute stringent laws for a progressive tax system, where people earning more than a specified amount should be paying more tax than individuals working under that income. In this way, the state will be able to spend more on improving the state of the poor through subsidized housing, affordable education and health services. Moreover, open awareness camps should be organized on behalf of the state to educate the general public and foster a sense of their right to fairness and equal treatment. Therefore, the government has to step up and work actively. In conclusion, social stratifications exist because of the extreme economic gap that’s there between the affluent and the impoverished populations. To make our society a more equal and fair place, it’s the higher authorities that have to come up with tiered taxation model to ensure that wealth in a country is distributed as per one’s needs.