Malnutrition is still a significant problem in many developing countries. What are the causes of malnutrition, and how can this problem be addressed?

Malnutrition, defined as the deficient or excessive intake of nutrients, is emerging as a significant problem in many developing countries. It is the root cause of many medical conditions, such as marasmus and kwashiorkor, mostly common among infants and adolescents. This essay will shed light on the possible reasons and solutions to this condition. ​ Firstly, one of the primary contributors to malnutrition is poverty. Certainly, low-income families lack access to safe drinking water and hygienic food. This leads to malnourishment, which in turn gives rise to life-threatening complications like anorexia nervosa and bulimia. For instance, a study carried out with a sample size from slum areas revealed that approximately 75% of the population was severely underweight due to financial constraints, thus supporting the aforementioned aspect. Moreover, to overcome this challenge, it is highly important for the government to financially support and uplift poor people who are suffering from hunger and starvation. Secondly, another dominant aetiology surrounding the issue of undernourishment is overpopulation. This topic has sparked debate over centuries, as it increases the prevalence of undernutrition at an alarming rate. For example, there is sufficient evidence provided in an article published by a dietitian, stating that around one-third of the world is experiencing famine resulting from population overgrowth. Furthermore, to alleviate this conundrum, legal authorities should adopt incentives like spreading awareness and educating society about family planning. Additionally, complementing this approach, numerous campaigns and seminars should be arranged in order to guide people regarding planned parenthood. Conclusively, malnutrition becomes the reason for many life-threatening diseases and should therefore be prevented by consuming an adequate diet. Lastly, preventive measures by the administration are imperative to mitigate the detrimental consequences of this condition.