Many companies sponsor sports through advertising. Some people think that this is very beneficial for the world of sports, while others believe there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Commercial advertisement is one of the controversial issues among people in modern society. While some people believe it is useful for the sports industry, others argue that its drawbacks can cause many maladaptive results. This essay will look at both views and explain why I assert advertising is necessary for a sustainable industry. On the one hand, it is true that there are some negative effects when companies advertise their products in a game. Firstly, it increases the likelihood that a company will intervene in the operation of the sports organization. For example, Newcastle City, which was taken over by a gambling enterprise, showed the advertisement of a gambling site’s domain on their uniform, leading to the large disappointment of fans. Eventually, it means that advertising can cause the damage to the sports organization’s image. Moreover, this damage is not able to recover easily and remains long-run, despite many efforts. As such, we should pay attention to the advertisement to maintain the continuous operation. Although these disadvantages, I believe that sports organization should get sponsored by companies. This is because it makes easier to administer sports clubs by earning the spare money. Their investment allows them to buy a new player or construct a new stadium, ensuring to attract many spectators. From my experience, I can see easily the football club earn money from advertisements and other sponsorships and this money is used to recruit new players. Thus, I strongly believe that we have to pursue a balanced approach that combines both sponsorship and independency and find out a way to combat the excessive intervention by companies. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments about sponsorship by advertisement. Some believe we should prohibit this phenomenon, but I advocate for the sponsorship to make the better infrastructure of sports organizations.