There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

In the past years, not having children has been an increasingly common decision among husbands and wives. While proponents argue that kids require lots of financial investments, opponents believe that not having children may lead to humanity's slow extinction. For me, I opine that there are valid bullet points from both sides, as I shall elaborate in this essay. One reason to not have children might be because of cost, as mentioned above. Today's society has left many civils around the world with not much money to look after their younglings. It is not uncommon to see people working day and night, just to bring food to the table. A hard-working lifestyle is most likely needed to sustain a family, therefore children are turned down by various couples. They believe their adult lifetime should be better spent taking care of themselves, or helping themselves to parties whenever they can before they get old. Hence, they do not see the value in devoting their hard-earned money and time to needy, attention-hungry toddlers. On the other hand, not giving birth to children means a lower fertility rate. In the past, even more during war times, having many kids mean a higher rate for one of them to succeed in surviving and passing down the family's bloodline. During hard times, not every member of the family went to sleep with a full belly, and so the mother and older siblings would have to share their portions with younger, leaner children. In most cases, half of them would starve to death, yet the family still moved on, hoping someday their descendants would live fulfilling lives. Fast forward to modern times, we have everything that our ancestors ever dreamt of: food, a peaceful world and a nice roof overhead. Our lives are spoiled with goods, with the necessary resources to maintain healthy children, but we decided against it. Not out of necessity, but out of preference. We should be guilty of ourselves, for abruptly cutting our family tree prematurely. In a larger scope, if many continue to make such decisions, our population will fall into a slow decline. It might be surprising for some, because we have always heard about overpopulation - never extinction! Take South Korea for instance, their fertility rate is among the record lows in the world. Experts believe that at their current pace, one hundred people now would only be three people after just three generations. That goes to show you how devasting the effects of a lower fertility rate would be. In the end, both sides of the spectrum are correct in their own field. Supporters view that there are more merits in hindsight; whilst critics predict long-term damages. Albeit, it is up to you to make up your own mind.