Some people think that students should wear school uniforms, while others believe they should be free to wear what they want. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Schools tend to have a mandatory policy in which students have to wear uniforms to school. Although many argue that it is better for students to follow the uniform policy, others stand with the idea that young individuals should be given the freedom to express themselves and should choose their own attire. I believe that requiring uniforms is the better approach and in this essay, I shall discuss both views and explain my own perspective. Having a school uniform serves equality between students where social backgrounds and status are negligible in which everyone appears the same. This accounts for less bullying between students and it can boost student's confidence and self-esteem. As a results, the boost in confidence can also lead to less social anxiety and even better academic quality as students tend to not care about their appearance so much and can put in effort in their school work. Besides, having a standard uniform can save a lot of time for both parents and students. For instance, the time wasted on deciding what you shall wear can be spent on something more useful like having a healthy breakfast or finishing some school work before heading to school. On the other hand, there is an argument where people believe that uniforms can take away the fun of how younger generations tend to express themselves through clothes. They are forced to wear the same clothes every day for several years in return, this could cause them to not know what their own attire or style actually is. Also, wearing what you want to school can prepare students for real life later on. This accounts for, knowing their style early on in life and not being afraid to express it, hence becoming more confident. In conclusion, both arguments serve strong points but, from my standpoint, I believe that the uniform policy has far more merits. Having the sense of equality between students with a boost of confidence as well as bettering their academic skills is far more important than their appearance. Accounting for a healthy mental environment.