The qualities and skills that people require to be successful in today’s world cannot be learned at university or at other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world surrounded by various people's opinions and expectations it is increasingly difficult to adapt and be part of society. Social norms and peer pressure shape the world’s outlook and define how people behave. While I agree that certain qualities and life skills cannot be learned at educational institutions, I also believe that without an academic basis it is impossible to succeed in the modern world. First of all, it is essential to mention that a lot of abilities are formed by our parents and circumstances, not schools or universities. For instance, life tools such as communication, adaptation, problem-solving, stress management and confidence are learned over time and they are not acquired in any academic institution. Furthermore, these life guides and bases are developing with human growth, so when you gain more life experiences, you become more successful in today's world regardless of your academic status. On the other hand, it is clear that some life skills should be taught only in educational institutions, trying to succeed in a specific career field. For example, to get financial literacy you must go to the university that offers economics or, if you are willing to become a doctor, you must graduate from a medical university first. In addition, some qualities are developed through education and you cannot learn them by yourself. In conclusion, although a lot of life skills and abilities can be learned from different life experiences, human growth and circumstances, some, more formal and professional ones should be acquired in academic institutions.