You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? You should write at least 250 words.

Whether people live in town or city, they need public spaces as community centres. However, many people believe that parks and squares might be used for new buildings, in relation to the present housing crisis. Nowadays, it is difficult to find space available for new constructions, infrastructures, and buildings. Governments have thought about the possibility of using parks and other open places to build new architecture. The economic benefits of this choice could be numerous, but only for who is already rich, such as investors, constructors, and entrepreneurs. Instead, citizens will be without any more open spaces to socialize, leaving them just grey roads and a couple of trees. Architects and urbanists should be against this future possibilities, and start to explain the meaning of parks, squares, paths, and lakes inside a city. Firstly, parks can improve air quality and fight against pollution - caused by cars and industries. They are not only significant for the environment, but also for human well-being. Recent research from an American university has shown how plants, trees, and flowers - especially the green colour - can positively influence people's behaviours and happiness. Moreover, squares are important as community and sociality places, where citizens can meet with each other, in a safe and clean environment. To sum up, every town or city need public outdoor places for the community. In my opinion, these spaces are fundamental to maintain a balance between artificial and natural environment, to control air quality, and to build a safe place for citizens. There are no clear reasons to transform these in other buildings, at least not for common people and our Earth.