Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Unquestionably, every coin has two sides and so are the people. Society's people are divided into two groups and therefore, some individuals reckon that the superior way to decrease the crime by putting a criminal in prison for years however, others think that there are several ways to combat with it and crime has become a topic of debate among multitudes. This essay will compare both of the opinions along with my viewpoint which is in the favour of latter view will be discussed in a sensible conclusion. Initiating with the points supporting first school of thought, firstly, it helps to give a message to other citizens that if they do any crime whether it is big or small, they have to face the consequences for it. They not only meet their family members but also become a lesson for others. The people who support this say that longer prison sentences make them feel guilty for their crime and they never try to do it again. Secondly, individuals who committed the crime can stay alone in the prison. In fact, they are not able to see anybody near their cell. As a consequence, they think about the crime, they did and they will never do such a crime in the future. On its contrasting side, multitudes who held another notion say that other ways are more effective to decline crime. They believe that the government should organize some campaigns for awareness. When the higher authority organise events, humans will know what is right and what is wrong for them and for their children. They teach their kids and scare them. Furthermore, the authority put a huge amount of penalty. If the government finds anyone who did anything wrong, they have to pay money to them. To conclude, I would like to say that other ways are good. However, it will depend upon the mindsets of the people that which view they are in favour of.