In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

The soaring cost of living in the majority of nations is worsening day by day. While this perpetuates insecurity incidences in society, the government can establish the production sector to boost the rate of locally manufactured goods. First and foremost, inflation affects the ability of citizens to afford basic needs such as food, clothing and shelter. Moreover, it becomes an uphill struggle for folks who live from hand to mouth to feed their families or to make ends meet. For instance, a study done in the UK post-Covid pandemic showed that 21% of the population could not afford food. Such a situation compels people to search for an alternative in order to survive the harsh conditions. Therefore, smuggling, pickpocketing and robbery become the order of the day thus increasing the incidents of insecurity. For example, a recent study conducted in Mathare Slums revealed that the region's crime rate accounted for 90% of the total proportion in the whole country. However, the government can play a vital role in curbing this problem. To begin with, the state can allocate adequate funds for industrialization as it would promote more production of goods. In turn, this would not only create employment for youths but also lower the prices of items and services. Moreover, the expenses involved in importation would be substantially reduced because goods would be locally available. For instance, when a nut processing factory was set up in my county four months ago, many residents secured jobs thus enabling them to make an income. Furthermore, the rate of idling significantly declined as people were busy working. In conclusion, with an expensive economy humans suffer the most because life becomes hard hence increasing the level of insecurity. On the other hand, the government can help to deal with this issue, for example, by promoting the manufacturing sector.