Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. Others disagree with this view. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It is observed that many countries in the world are economically rich but, at the same time, not environment friendly. As per various reports, the carbon emission per person in developed countries is found to be much higher than that in developing countries, which may have led to impression that economic progress is not possible without impacting our environment. This essay will delineate both perspectives, ultimately contending that it is possible for countries to be both developed and environmentally friendly at the same time. Developed countries around the world have made significant economic progress due to rapid industrialisation in the last two centuries, leading to massive consumption of oil, gas, and other fossil fuels, which led to belief that economic development and high carbon footprint go hand in hand. When industrialization started, the impact on the environment was not severe as there were rare usage of products such as automobiles and vehicles, but in the last few decades, due to continuous innovations leading to low prices of goods, and ever-increasing income levels across the world, the usage of products such as as cars and gadgets increased precipitiously, leading to significant polllution levels and high carbon footprint. This gave an impression that financial progress and envionment environmental impact go together. However, nations and international organisations have realised the folly of such growth. Due to increased environmental impact, countries across the world are taking steps to use green technologies to achieve growth without impacting the nature. Clean fuel technologies hae evolved and reached at a mature stage, making them economically viable. For example, solar power cost has come at par with cost of power generated by polluting oil and gas, and similarly, electric cars are getting popular day by day everywhere fueled by innovations led by companies, such as Testla and BYD. Consequently, countries have set a target to be carbon neutral by 2050 as per Paris climate agreement, and many of them are on their way to achieve it. In summary, there is an increasing evidence that economical growth is feasible without the deleterious effects on our nature. Noval greener technologies are not only protecting our planet but also fostering innovation and growth at same time, leading to financial prosperity around the world.