Writing Samples / Band 8 In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of problems and what measures could be taken to solve them

In recent times, it is more likely to be obese than in the past. This trend is mainly tied to problems related to a sedentary lifestyle alongside an unhealthy diet. In my opinion, this issue could be addressed by effective measures done by the government such as raising awareness on the downsides of eating fast food but also promoting the benefits of physical activities. One of the most common cause of a rise in people's weight is the fact that individuals tend to adopt an unhealthy daily life. It is the case, for instance, when they are spending hours sitting in the same position which results in a lack of physical movement essential in burning calories. Indeed, as people are keen on eating industrial food which contains large amounts of oil, they need to compensate these added calories in order to reduce the likelihood of developing serious diseases, such as high-cholesterol, that could be harmful. Hence, the primary reasons why individuals are becoming overweighted are their unhealthy lifestyle that include a lack of sports as well as a highly caloric feeding. Nevertheless, this problem can be tackled by governmental actions to make citizens more fit and healthier. To examplify this, they could raise the population's awareness on how dangerous this kind of food could be on their health. This situation has been widespread in The United States where schools claimed the fact that manufactured food leads to awful damages on health. Another initiative is that the parliament can promote the advantages of practicing a regular activity, by installing new gym rooms or implementing parks for running. This will encourage the population to do exercises as there will be plenty of specialised facilities for it. Thus, sports alongside an alert on the dangers of eating fast food, could be effective solutions to raise the issue. In conclusion, although the major causes of an increase in weight are triggered by both a sedentary lifestyle and an overconsumption of oily food, I firmly believe that the government can play a crucial role in solving the problem effectively not only through raising attention on the dangerous consequences of such food, but also highlighting the benefits of physical activities by suggesting the implementation of specific amenities encouraging individuals to practice sports.