Some children can learn efficiently by watching TV. Therefore, they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that television is an effective mode of teaching, so children should be motivated to watch television both at home and at school. While, TV is a good educational tool, too much exposure to TV both at school and at home is not beneficial for children. Admittedly, TV can be a powerful source of learning for children. Being an audio-visual part of learning more effective results can be achieved. Apart from this, what children can see is always retained for longer in their minds. For instance, a boring history subject can become more interesting when it is presented on the screen, and children can learn more efficiently from it. However, if children can watch TV for longer hours in school, it will reduce their interaction with the teachers and with fellow students. Teachers teach a lot of things to students apart from academics. The level of things learned at school will come to an end. Moreover, it will diminish their reading habits when they learn from television. Consequently, it would leave a detrimental impact on their holistic development. Furthermore, watching TV for longer hours at home can also distract students from their studies. Watching TV talk shows and movies for longer hours leads to the wastage of time and does not provide any thorough knowledge about studies. For example, watching shows on the National Geographic channel only entertains people and cannot replace the knowledge of books and academic literature. In conclusion, although TV is a good educational tool, it should be used within limits and the things which children learn from television should be monitored by parents and teachers.