Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the developed countries offer free high school education to all children, thus achieving 100% literacy rate unlike in developing countries. In light of the above success, many are raising voices to make higher education free for all students, enabling poor students to get university degrees without any financial stress. While it may seem a grand favour to students, consequences of such a step may be detrimental to the quality of education. So, I firmly disagree with the perspective of free education to all, as I believe it will have more adverse effects, outweighing the benefits that it offers. FIrst of all, course fees are the one of the main funding sources for the institutes, as significant funds are required to run daily operations, operate modern hi-tech labs, and pay salaries of professors. Universities also spend a lot of budget on reasearch and development, making it innovation hubs of the country. Many of the modern day innovations have happened in universities, such as quantum machanics and nanotech advancement. Without course fees, education hubs will be left devoid of critical funds, getting fully dependent on governments for grants. This will hamper not only the quality of education but also the research and development. To address the cause of poor students not getting opportunity to study, there are numerous way to resolve this. Firstly, many colleges offer scholarships to needy students. Secondly, they tie-up with banks to offer students loans at attractive interest rates that can be paid after the completion of course. With these interventions, universites are able to run independently, while serving the needs for all students with diverse financial backgrounds. In conclusion, while, offering free education to all pupils may seem a good idea, there are inherent disadvantages for colleges, such as lack of finances and dependence on governments. A better solution would be to offer grants and loans to poor pupils, while charging from well-to-do students.