One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the transportation method of travel. Some people believe that fights consume too much fuel which we should discourage, while others argue that we only need to restrict the use of private cars. In my point of view, we should limit the car use on the road instead of reducing flights which is useless. First and foremost, the flight can save more time. Especially for long-distance travel, road transportation is much more time -consuming which may take plenty of days, while the plane only occupies several hours. Some people consider time as a very essential factor, which means they think the wasted time can be used to do many other things, such as working and exercising. As a result, the flight will be a better choice instead of cars. Secondly, flights can contribute significantly to the national economy. By expanding the network of air routes, more destinations can be reached by residents from different cities, which leads to more opportunities for local tourism. The number of tourists increases, so their consumption such as food, accommodation and some souvenior can translate into rising local GDP. As a result, the national economy will be boosted and economic growth will occur. On the other hand, there is no doubt that airplane consumes a much larger amount of fuel than cars. This emission of gases especially carbon dioxide, is harmful to the environment. It follows that global warming and rising sea levels may have happened. However, an airplane can transport over 300 passengers per journey, a car typically carries only about 4-7 people, resulting in significant fossil fuel emissions from daily driving on the road. This emission level can often surpass that of a single flight, so limiting the usage of private cars will be more useful. In conclusion, the airplane can boost the local economy and save time. However, this transportation method causes detrimental effects to the environment. Considering both the benefits and drawbacks of long-distance flight, I disagree with discouraging non-essential flights.