A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

In recent years, a concerning trend has emerged as fewer and fewer pupils choose science majors at universities around the world. In my opinion, this phenomenon is caused by the lower salaries and terrible working conditions faced by scientists. Consequently, a society without sufficient scientists struggles to develop its technology because of the lack of scientific research. First of all, scientists ’ incomes can not afford a qualified life for people nowadays and they endure the high pressure of laboratories. Thus, students have lower motivation to study science subjects which are likely to become their career in the future. According to a report in 2022 released by the Taiwan Nation Labor Agency, the revenue of scientists increased only 1% in the current three years, but the economic inflation was 3%. In brief, teenagers are less attracted to science subjects due to their financial expectations for the future Consequently, limited people contribute to the science fields and that leads to most industries not progressing in society. Therefore, a country could lose the ability to compete with others and face economic challenges in the following years. For example, plastic companies depend on chemistry scientists to research innovative techniques to improve their production. Otherwise, their products faded from the market. In brief, the number of students whose majors in science are not sufficient, has a long-term influence on society. In conclusion, students' motivation for choosing science subjects is influenced by the potential situation of jobs in the future. Furthermore, how many people are devoted to scientific research also affects the improvement of society.