Some people think it would be beneficial for school children to study international news as a school subject, while others argue it would be a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that it is valuable for students to study international news, while others would say it wastes time. Despite differing opinions, I totally believe that it is advantageous for children to study global news because it can broaden their perspectives and greatly enhance students knowledge and experiences. On the one hand, it is understandable that students face a limited timeframe during their school years. With a demanding syllabus and various extra-curricular commitments, many students prioritize subjects directly related to their public examinations. For instance, excelling in exam like the Dipolma of Secondary Education is crucial for gaining university admission. As a result, students may feel hesitant to allocate time on subjects like international news, which they consider less relevant. However, I believe that having a broad knowledge base is essential for facing challenges in the future. On the other hand, studying global news helps students develop a wider perspective. Understanding international events sharpens critical thinking and analytical skills, which are essential to enchance comprehensive knowledge and thinking in today’s interconnected world. For example, during the career interviews nowadays, many employers often seek candidates who can discuss global economic trends and their implications. Therefore, knowledge of recent global development, such as trade policies or international relation, ultimately giving candidates an edge in a competitive market. In conclusion, while some argue that studying international news is not necessary, I firmly believe that it is important for students to expand their perspective and understanding as well as prepare themselves for future success.