Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Some people say that it is harmful for children to use social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter because it might negatively harm their ability to foster personal relationships with other people whereas others think that the use of social media will provide the young with some benefits in terms of the relationships. I personally support the former opinion because even though technological advancements such as social media have improved our communication easier and faster than it was before, I think that young people tend to avoid interacting with each other face to face because of technological developments. It is certain that modern technology has led people to connect with each other with easier and faster access to the internet and they can now communicate with anyone all day long, which also can encourage them to have a connection with others, resulting in feeling safety and a sense of belonging to community. Furthermore, with easier access to social media, they can find someone who has the same hobbies or interests, which might enrich their life. However, at the same time, I reckon that easier access to the Internet can discourage them from communicating in person, leading them to a lack of communication skills. Turning to the other aspect, some statistics have shown that over the past three decades, an increasing number of people, especially the young, tend to prefer communicating on websites or social media over face-to-face communication. The main cause of this is probably because of the development of technology. The advancement may reduce the amount of confidence of younger people to contact others in person, thus leading them to feel reluctant to communicate. In conclusion, I believe that although our communication style has become more convenient because of the progress of technology, those kinds of sites can be detrimental to the formation of interpersonal relationships among young people.