Some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the course of the last decades, the crime rate has significantly increased worldwide. While some individuals still claim that imprisonment is the best method to mitigate criminal actions, it seems that other measures, such as rehabilitation and job opportunities, are far more effective. Admittedly, the prison sentence is an important way of controlling the crime rate. Perhaps the first reason that many people support longer sentences is that, they deter potential criminals from becoming actual offenders. In other words, the fear of spending years behind bars, acts as a deterrent factor; Therefore, people avoid committing crimes. Furthermore, applying longer prison sentences will ensure that the rest of the community is safe. As prisoners are kept in a closed area, they cannot re-offend, given that other members of society can live in peace of mind. Nevertheless, there are some better solutions that can reduce the amount of offences. Firstly, criminals should be rehabilitated before returning to the society. Only keeping them in dark cells cannot make them a better person; consequently, delinquents have to be trained so as to be ready for their future life out of prison. Secondly, since the majority of offences result from poverty, more job opportunities have a direct influence on the crime rate. As a tangible example, the government of Japan subsidized the companies that employed people, who had been in prison before. This action led to a rapid decline in the number of offences, in 2010. In summary, although imprisonment is a practical way of punishment, I highly believe that some other procedures, namely providing occupation and rehabilitating, can even be more effective in reducing the probability of committing a crime.