Some people believe that countries should produce food to feed their populations themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, some individuals argue that countries should be independent in food production for all residents, and importing of it should be minimised. It is an inevitable fact that this suggestion would lead to poverty and a lack of budget in some nations. I firmly disagree with the idea that governments should produce food to feed their population. To begin with, exports and imports play an influential role in countries ' economic conditions. As a result, undeveloped and war-ravaged countries, especially those lacking agricultural facilities such as infertile soil, insufficient water, and poor weather, cannot produce high-quality crops and food. So, other developed nations are required to export diverse cuisines to these nations to help them combat poverty. To illustrate this point further, after the war, Ukraine imported food from the United States and India to serve the remaining residents of the nation. Furthermore, due to explosions on the surface of Ukraine, the soil quality has degraded, and most varieties cannot be grown for a decade. Hence, the majority of nations lack suitable space and conditions to grow sufficient crops to feed the inhabitants. Moreover, considered budget is considered essential, as it affects nationwide financial decisions. Authorities have to assign a budget to different sectors to tackle other significant needs such as poverty, unemployment and transportation. Thereby, producing crops at a large scale would require huge capital, meaning the budget of other sectors needs to be significantly reduced; nonetheless, importing food from other countries is more logical and practical. For instance, in Malaysia, the government decided to import wheat and flour from neighbouring countries because planting these crops in the nation has caused them to lose funds, ultimately leaving them with insufficient funds to plant them in their nation. Therefore, officials' financial decisions can impact the quality of people's lifestyles. In conclusion, it is argued that a country must produce its food for the entire nation. However, in my opinion, if importing food from other nations addressed inhabitants nutrition needs, then importing is more beneficial, as it contributes to financial security to the government.