Many people, especially young children, watch too much television. Some experts think that this can be dangerous, and that the time would be better spent doing other thing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching television?

Over the course of the recent decades, spending hours in front of TV sets has become a popular activity among children. Although television offers many notable advantages, its drastic side effects on children ’s physical and mental health, cannot be neglected. Admittedly, watching TV has various benefits for everyone, particularly for the kids in their formative years. First and foremost, the majority of TV programs are educational that can help the children to develop an array of skills. For instance, there is an American channel for kids, named Kids Time, that broadcasts a program that teaches children to do handcrafts at home or to paint with unusual materials like fruits. Moreover, since there are many programs on diverse subjects, ranging from history to science, young people have the opportunity to acquire well-rounded information about every topic. Nevertheless, this trend also has some chronic downsides. Some academics advocate that watching too much television can be harmful. On the one hand, it is hard on different parts of our bodies such as the eyes, leading to serious health problems. On the other hand, long-term exposure to TV programs can fuel some mental issues like isolation and depression. Cambridge University found in a recent study that clinging to screens is the main reason that people fail to communicate with each other properly. In summary, although some experts believe that children should focus on other activities, rather than watch different programs for hours; the positive influences of these shows on children ’s knowledge and perception must be taken into consideration.