Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement of technology nowadays, kids tend to have easy access to their smartphones developing a habit of carrying them everywhere at any time of the day. Personally, I view this as a drawback rather than an advantage. Undoubtedly, technology especially smartphones made life a lot easier than it used to be decades ago. People tend to depend on these devices blindly, from navigation and communication to solving homework, basically everything. As a result, children are now too attached to them, as a matter of fact, it is almost impossible to find a kid without a cell phone in hand nowadays. Even in schools, teachers now use phones in various ways, whether to teach or hand out homework or tests causing phones to be accessible to all young people. The rapid development of these metal devices carries a few drawbacks. For instance, the accessibility it comes with causes some sort of addiction in those young individuals' minds, kids can not go a day without using their phones or checking their socials and this, according to an article published in 2019, resulted in a lot of mental issues and increased the depression rate in young people by 40%. Not only that but also, children's eyesight is deteriorating due to all the harmful light permitted from the screens and how long screentime they have every day. In a nutshell, smartphones can be a blessing in disguise. They, with no hesitation, offer a lot of benefits and life is much easier because of them, however, if not used limitedly they can cause various health problems including mental ones.