Smoking is not only harm to smoker but also those who are near by.Therefore smoking should banned in public places. To what extend do you agree or disagree

Both smokers and people who are near them are negatively affected by smoking; so, smoking should not be allowed in public areas. I totally agree with this statement because smoking in shared spaces leads to health issues and has drawbacks to the national economy. Firstly, smoking is one of the main causes of health problems. Lung cancer is one of the most serious diseases caused by smoking. By consuming too much toxic air produced through smoking, a probability of getting sick will increase in not only smokers but also those surrounding them. For example, research in Thailand reported that second-hand smokers are significantly impacted by smoke although they do not use cigarettes by themselves, increasing the number of patients with lung cancer or respiratory system. Therefore, smoking should be prohibited in public places in order to prevent people from being physically sick. Secondly, smoking in public areas also negatively impacts the economy, especially a tourist industry. Smoking in public spaces results in toxic air and bad smell, making the air quality worse. Due to its consequences, tourists and locals avoid visiting these public areas, leading to fewer people travelling. If people are unlikely to visit areas with air pollution, those areas will generate fewer incomes, eventually affecting overall finances. For instance, many areas had been listed as 'not to go' places because of bad smells covering their areas. Hence, to prevent that undesired situation, public areas should ban smoking strictly. In conclusion, the consequences of smoking in public spaces are not only on smoker but also on people who are nearby. Smoking in public places has disadvantages, including causing health concerns, in particular lung cancer and respiratory system diseases, and also impacting countries economically. Consequently, I firmly agree that smoking should be strictly banned in all public areas.