Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dresscode. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

While there are educational facilities which enforce strict dress code regulations, some schools embrace a more relaxed route and won’t insist on a specific regulation clothing or restrictive rules about students ’ clothing. Although both groups have the best for their students in mind, each approach has some benefits and drawbacks. One reason that many educational facilities resort to rigorous dress code regulations and possibly specify a few uniform options for their pupils, is for them to not be so preoccupied with their daily attire and eventually to save their time and energy for more productive tasks, which is a valid point in my opinion, since it is not easy for students to mix and match different outfits every morning. Additionally, it keeps their other pieces of clothing from being damaged due to being washed so often, resulting in saving money as well. Moreover, wearing homogenous apparel gives students of a certain institute a sense of unity, which fosters teamwork and helps them to function better as a group. Furthermore, the aforementioned method presents some downsides as well. Being bound to wear a specific uniform could damage one’s sense of self. As,especially teenagers, tend to express themselves through their appearance, being limited on that front may repel them from school and education. Not to mention that pre-made uniforms may not fit all bodies and sizes properly, which could eventually lead to body dysmorphic disorders in children with smaller or larger figures. In conclusion, I would argue that schools’ dress code is an intricate subject, it might make some students feel oppressed if it is too restrictive and limited to a specific uniform, and at the same time, can become a liability if they are too lenient, hence, a mild approach could probably be the best route and prove most beneficial for the younger generation.