Some people say that the best way to reduce crime rate is to increase the number of police on the streets. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals suggest recruiting more police officers on the streets is essential to combat the increasing crime rate. I firmly agree with this because a larger policing force would serve as a deterrent for offenders; however, it would increase the financial burden on the ministry. The rise in the number of police officers guarding the streets helps to reduce crime levels in the city, as mobs and thugs are scared to violate the law. Moreover, their increased presence throughout the immediate region reduces response time to ongoing crimes and also discourages offenders from committing crimes. For example, in Ecuador, there has been an elevated rate of murders by drug dealers, and to combat the situation, the government increased the manpower of the police force, thereby reducing murders significantly across the nation. However, recruiting more policemen would increase the financial burden on the ministry, as it would require additional salaries and the construction of more stations. A recent study from London revealed that doubling the policing force would require the government to raise taxes by 10% to incorporate the increased monetary needs. Additionally, increased taxes lead to decreased public support if they are not accompanied by results. In conclusion, the most effective method to provide safety to our neighbourhoods is by lowering the high levels of murders and muggings through more patrol guards, since it deters organised crime and mobs. Although it increases the burden on the ministry, it is worth the increase since it promotes a safer environment across the street and the city.