Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities n the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In this modern era, there is an enhancement in car ownership that resulted to congestion in some cities. I agree with this statement since it happened as well in my city, South Jakarta. This essay will elaborate on the government's approaches to reducing the use of private cars by citizens. Firstly, the government can increase the amount of comfortable public transportation. To illustrate, a decade ago, people who lived in Jakarta, which is a capital city in Indonesia, were likely to use their own cars instead of public transportation. It happened because private cars were more comfortable than mass transportation, such as buses, trains, etc. But, when the government establishes The Mass Rapid Train (MRT), which is really fast and comfortable, people tend to choose this transportation, rather than theirs. It is a good movement by the government that makes people discouraged from using their own vehicles. Other benefits of this approach are reducing the traffic and air pollution. Secondly, the government can regulate the ownership of cars, especially in taxes. As an illustration, in Indonesia, there is a regulation called progressive taxes for the car's ownership. Those citizens, who have many cars, have to pay more taxes for their second cars, third cards, respectively. This circumstance makes people reconsider to have many transportation and they choose to use mass transportation given by the government. This approach does really discourage people from having their own vehicles. In conclusion, there are many approaches that can be used to discourage people from using their cars, for instance establishing comfortable public transportation and regulating taxes. Based on evidence in Indonesia, these two examples impact society to not using their private vehicles.