1.Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages for their studies?

There is no denying the fact that many students take a gap year before starting their journey in university. While a commonly held belief that taking a one- year break has numerous benefits for students, there is also an argument that opposes this idea. This essay will analyse the topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, students can get many advantages from working or traveling such as finding a job that matches their chosen major or traveling to learn a new language. In other words, gaining a hands-on experience in a work that related to their filed may help them to understand better and gain valuable information about it, while traveling can help them in learning new languages such as English, which will benefit them in their academic journey. Moreover, these types of experience will help them in obtaining many personal characteristics such as discipline and patience. For example, my cousin Freas, decided to take one- year off to study English language in Ireland because he had a week foundation in this language, this experience changed him a lot to the better and had a huge positive on his academic journey. On the other hand, leaving a gap between high school graduation and the beginning of university can cause a loss in information. It is also possible to say that losing information can happen by taking off for a long period of time such as forgetting the math or physics basics. In addition, it may cause them to have a hard adaptation because they were have a completely different life before starting the college journey, so they will face difficulty in the first year of their studies. For example, summer vacation always affects the performance of the students, especially at the beginning of the year, because they need time to bring back their pervious performance. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that it is a positive thing to take a year off before starting university to work or travel to learn a new skills that will help in your academic path.