In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's competitive market, many companies promote their products claiming they are innovative. Although I partly agree with such a mindset because I believe that this is how companies keep consumers updated about developments, however, I argue that this could carry some drawbacks. Firstly, there are various reasons why businesses advocate for the novelty of their products. This allows them to be different from other competitors and easily stand out. For example, in industries like technology, where products are rather similar to one another, presenting something as new can capture consumer's attention. For instance, Apple hosts an event annually for launching a new gadget, which hundreds of people attend. This results in thousands of eager buyers who want to purchase the latest product even if they do not necessarily need to. Consequently, the unnecessary push of purchasing new devices constantly results in various issues. One of which, many people tend to replace their older devices even if they are perfectly functional, leading to financial waste. This is thought to usually be due to peer pressure. Individuals are always keen to follow one another and they get easily influenced by their surroundings. Moreover, this overconsumption leads to environmental issues, as the older products usually end up in landfills and are difficult to recycle.  In a nutshell, advertising can be very beneficial for companies as it allows them to be competitive and drive technological advances, yet if such promotions were not regulated this can lead to financial losses as well as environmental damage.