Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their lives. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that there is a trend of couples having children when they are averagely older than bygone generations. While there are a plethora of reasons for this phenomenon, it poses some downsides as well as benefits, which will be discussed in this essay. One reason that many adults might be hesitant to have a baby in earlier stages of their lives is the fact that nowadays providing for a family has become much more challenging. Therefore, they might postpone becoming a parent until when they are capable of funding a larger family. Moreover, the society is now more educated on the science behind children ’s upbringing than they were before, as a result, couples might plan their childbearing for when they feel fully prepared. Furthermore, this trend is beneficial in some aspects. Firstly, it will result in families having greater financial stability as the child is growing up, and for them to be able to offer them a superior service throughout their child’s life. For example, these children can go to private schools and high-ranked universities. Secondly, when parents possess a deeper understanding of the methods of raising a baby, these children will grow up mentally healthier. Nevertheless, there are downsides to this trend as well, which need to be addressed. For one, a greater generational age gap could result in conflicts amongst families, as the parents might lack acceptance in facing their children ’s issues. Not to mention that these kids might be susceptible to experiencing their parent’s illness or even possibly their demise sooner than they could tolerate such a great loss. In conclusion, I would argue that both financial reasons alongside the modern cultural sphere have led people to delay having children. Therefore, their offspring will experience a better lifestyle both financially and mentally; however, this new generation may also suffer from a greater cultural difference from their parents or be exposed to their death earlier.