In some counties, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other counties. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problems?

In some nations, it is possible for individuals to purchase items manufactured in other countries.The main problems these cause are economic downturn and cultural homogenisation and the most viable solution is to create awareness about local products and support small enterprises. To begin with,patronage of foreign goods over local products can impact a country's economy negatively. Therefore,leading to a low economic turnover.As many people buy overseas products and local items are ignored,traders and shop owners start to lose their source of income as goods are not being sold anymore. This can also lead to job loss as many residents become unmotivated and willing to trade because of little profit outcome. In addition, cultural homogenisation occurs as a result of a large influx of foreign goods into the country and causes a decline in home country items. This make local products less valued and appreciated. For example, when a country that produces high quantities of rice constantly imports rice from other nations this weakens the economic system of said country. Furthermore,to tackle this problem the government should create lots of awareness on various locally produced items in order to encourage the purchase of such items. This can be done through radio jingles,internet pop up ads, television and newspapers to say the least. Therefore,making citizens aware of the availability of such items and convince them to patronise national traders. This will not only boost the economy but also lead to the creation of many job opportunities for locals. The government should also support little and middle businesses via low interest loans and tax breaks. For intsance, setting up government funding schemes for little business owners. In conclusion, foreign goods are prefered over local goods, a major way to combat this is to enlighten citizens about the availability of their home produce and encouragement of small and middle enterprises.