Societies would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that banning advertisements in every form can be useful to communities as these have no benefits and can be harmful. I completely disagree with this statement because product marketing can improve profits and create awareness among people. Firstly, one of the main reasons I oppose this idea is advertisements can be used strategically to improve sales of a product. To elaborate, most of the population has a television in their homes because these are used widely companies can market their products in the form of ads to reach a broad range of audiences and further improve sales. To illustrate, Amul which sells milk-based products faced a problem in reaching middle-class families in India, as they lived in rural areas which do not have billboards or read magazines. So, they created a commercial with a little animated girl holding a milk carton box and broadcast in prime time. This strategy boosted their sales by 38% and the company had huge profits. Additionally, it is important to consider that commercials are very effective in creating awareness about a social topic. This is because, videos are easy to view and memorize, understand irrespective of language with captivating visuals as opposed to publishing in newspapers or pamphlets. For instance, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is creating awareness about money laundering scams happening frequently in India. On the other hand, it is important to acknowledge that some people are misusing the power of advertising by promoting betting apps and addictive games marketed towards children. However, I believe this argument is flawed because people can still use these applications mindfully and not get addicted. In conclusion, the arguments presented showed that correct advertising improves company's sales and creates awareness about social topics. Therefore, I strongly believe that there is no need to ban all forms of commercials because they do have a purpose in society. However, with the advantages, there is also a need to use these properly and moderately and not promote any illegal or harmful products.