In some countries, more and more people are becoming, interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people resarch this?

Nowadays, a lot of people around the world are keen on investigating the history of their houses. Most of them do this activity to be aware of the safety of their building due to the importance of its age, while others do that as a hobby. The convenient way to find out about the history of a neighbourhood is the elderly people in that area, and also local government documents. To begin with, the safety of the residential building is a crucial issue. The first vital factor is finding out when it was built. This simple information can be useful for residents. They know the weakness of the building. Therefore, they can assess the current condition of the building. If it needs repair, they will fix it before it gets worse. In addition, some of the buildings are historical, and most people consider this kind of study as entertainment. They try to find new information about their building, and usually share it with the rest of the people. For instance, a young boy in the UK searched for the history of their home. He realised that they live in a 200-year-old building, and with more searching in the garden, he found a lot of historical coins. Although this information is beneficial, they are not easily accessible. First of all, government documents are valuable resources. Because most of the buildings have ownership documents, they are easy to track. Secondly, just for younger buildings, elderly people in each local community are helpful. They were usually born and grew up there. So, they have witnessed all the changes in that area. They have a lot of information, and they can provide a lot of details. To conclude, safety and hobbies are two important things that made people pursue this issue, and old people and official documents are the main references.