Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought considers that celebration of individual events such as birthdays, anniversaries, accomplishments etcetera are totally waste of money. But another school of thought believes that it is required to build a strong relationship among family members and at the community level too. I will explain both sides along with my opinion in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, I will explain the benefits of celebrating personal occasions. Celebrating the special day of a family member expresses the care, and love of family towards that person which will ultimately build or improve the emotional bond among them. Additionally, in this busy lifestyle, through celebrations, people have a good time to spend with their loved ones, and rejuvenate themselves by getting out of their daily routines. Furthermore, we all are social beings, we are living in societies, and working with them, so there must be a good understanding and co-operation among them, Hence, celebrations are a perfect time when pupils get the opportunity to meet each other in social gatherings, share their joys and important achievements with them, which proves fruitful to maintain harmony in neighbourhood. On the other hand, some people linked private celebrations to the unnecessary use of savings. The foremost reason is that, in this gimmick world, people are celebrating their own times as grand functions. In each family, generally, 4-6 people are living, which means at least 4-6 grand ceremonies each year would cost a lot to them. More concerning is its impact on the society. As a part of society, other people living in the surroundings are also expected to have similar celebrations, resulting in, some families indulging in financial debt because they cannot afford such grand parties, but to survive in the communities they have to unwillingly perform such activities. People who are opposed of celebrating individual events, are actually in favour of celebrating social events such as religious or cultural festivals, where people can contribute and enjoy together which saves the societies from additional expenses and would help to create real social bonds between them. In conclusion, I would wrap up my essay with my opinion by saying that even though public functions are a wise choice to save money and eliminate the burden of private parties, personal events can not be removed completely from the societies as these are also important to show respect and affection towards others, however, pupils should celebrate them in a simple and decent manner ensuring everyone could celebrate their personal times free of worries.