Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

All over the world, villagers begin to settle down in cities. Therefore, populations in the urban areas are still increasing. In my opinion, I think this is a negative phenomenon which can lead to resource shortages and social contradictions and also affect the lives of their next generation. One serious problem that can arise from the increasing demand for social resources is that it can lead to a lack of social resources. Before the industrial revolution, farmers worked on land and ensured that vegetables and fruits were continuously produced. However, with the development of science and technology, more and more young generation from rural areas are choosing to migrate to cities with the aim of making a living. So the agricultural products have been continuously declining and the shortages of urban supply have led to a rapid rise in prices, which has further aggravated social inequality. As a result, it's not only harmful to modern agriculture development but also breaks the social population balance. Another issue is that the sharp increase of the urban population may lead to the intensification of social contradictions. In other words, limited social resources cannot meet individuals' needs, so it will cause conflict among people. For instance, with the acceleration of the urbanization process, a large number of rural population has moved into the city. In terms of employment, a large number of low-skill workers are facing unemployment pressure and even some of them may lose their jobs or reduce sources of income. In terms of public services, education resources are in short supply, which makes a huge challenge for the children of rural areas to enroll in schools. Furthermore, the large-scale migration of rural population has brought various pressures and contradictions to cities. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that the migration of rural population to cities will bring several adverse impacts on cities and intensify social problems.