In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar.What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

In recent years, architectural styles have changed a lot. Earlier, they were reflections of culture and heritage, but now all these look the same throughout the urbanisation. This change is due to various reasons and in my opinion, this is a negative development. The new uprising structures in the cities are becoming more alike with improvisation in the construction technology. This is because, with globalisation, architecture sends their designs to farfetched countries via mail or can even have live discussions. In addition, transporting building materials has become easier nowadays. Not only that, there are more safety features involved in these new constructions making them safe for natural calamities such as earthquakes or tornadoes. For example, as per the Tribunal, 40% of constructions in Chicago in 2024 were handled by architects of different continents and were able to withstand earthquakes of 6 Richter scale as well. This development also has a few drawbacks such as culture and heritage being lost. This is because no uniqueness is left in the city to inspire locals. Moreover, local tourism is impacted by a lack of heritage to attract them. As youngsters have no aspiration for culture, they would lose their uniqueness as well and just start working in a rat race of following common structures with no innovation. For instance, New York University showed that in 2023 only 30% of passing out architecture could draft a unique city plan. Therefore, innovative ideas are getting lost. In conclusion, though same structures in cities are part of globalisation and increased safety for people. This is also hampering the innovation and tourism industries.