After graduation many students take a year to travel. Some think that it would be more useful to work for a year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the trend of students choosing to take gap years before enrolling in university is happening worldwide, leading to an increasingly controversial question of whether working experience or travel is more crucial in the future for them. In my view gaining working experience is more beneficial since it not only offers students practical skills but also helps them in managing their budgets. One noticeable advantage of doing vocational work during the gap year period is how it provides skills that the students can apply in later life. Specifically, through interacting and working with co-workers in completing tasks and projects, the young generation will have chances to be exposed to real-life working conditions, therefore enhancing communication skills and teamwork. Not only do these essential skills give them hands-on experience but they also make them more well-prepared for their future ahead. For instance, many large companies these days demand soft skills over certain academic certifications and skills youngsters gain from their previous jobs can make them stand out from other candidates. Another significant benefit that students can attain from working must be financial management. To clarify, after having received their first salaries, students will be more mature and value the amount of money they have earned since they have to sacrifice the comfort of being cared for by parents to put their effort as well as determination into their work. Therefore, teenagers are becoming more conscious about how their money will be allocated and can calculate possible risks to avoid putting a strain on their budgets. On the other hand, there are some individuals who assert that travelling is advantageous for student's personal growth. That is because when exploring new countries and cultures enables youngsters to broaden their horizons about the world as well as to step out of their norm, which is a stepping stone for them to build up confidence. While this point has credibility, it also comes with the cost of solitude feelings and unforeseen challenges that can exacerbate student's travel experience unless there is proper preparedness for the journey. Thus, gaining experience from working is a more sustainable option for teens compared to travelling. In conclusion, skills provision and financial independence encourage students to get working experience rather than go travelling since travelling may contain hidden risks. Ultimately, this essay has proved that gaining working experience is more important than travelling.