Many people believe that watching films is a waste of time, while others think that movies can be educational and beneficial. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The film industry is continually evolving, with new techniques and technologies leading to improved filmmaking. Although a lot of people have this ideology that watching movies is futile, others believe that it is profitable and educational. In my opinion, both perspectives are valid, depending on the type of film and how it is consumed. In the following paragraphs, I shall discuss both views and present my opinion. From one point of view, I agree that watching movies is time-wasting due to the fact that it is non-productive. It is regarded as a passive form of entertainment, unlike other activities like reading or playing chess which are mentally challenging. Time spent watching movies could be used for personal growth and development. Furthermore, movies can have a negative impact on emotions. For example, those action films with violence and war could trigger anxiety and depression in some people. On the other hand, another group view movies as advantageous and they could be used for learning purposes because some movies are a powerful source of inspiration and motivation. Some movies offer storylines that resonate with our daily life struggles and inspire us to not give up but pursue our dreams. Moreover, films are also a great tool for stress relief because of their ability to provide escapism. Watching movies can cause the release of dopamine which is the happy hormone and is part of the brain’s reward system. For instance, watching Netflix and chilling after a long and unpleasant day at work. For this reason, I equally go along with this belief. To conclude, while some people believe that watching films is a waste of time due to their passive and sometimes harmful nature, others argue that movies can be educational, inspiring, and therapeutic. I believe that both perspectives hold truth. The value of watching films largely depends on the genre, content, and the viewer's purpose. When chosen wisely, films can be both enjoyable and enriching.