Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, children's addiction on smartphones has became a growing isssue. I believe this phenomenon is mainly caused by satisfication brought by smartphones and it is a negative development. One primary reason of this issue is that smartphones are designed to be stimulating and allow children to gain instant gartification. To be specific, children's brains are not fully developed and vulnerable to external influence; therefore, they are not capable to control their reliance on digital devices which can bring them joy and excitement. Once they develop the habit of unlimitated using time, it will be hard for them to escape from the vitual world with their low self-control ability. For example, short videos on the Internet enable children to gain access to various information that is unattainable in real life senarios, leading the a sense of short satification after scrolling. There are several setbacks for children who use their smartphoes for whole day. First and foremost, it can leads to countless physical illness. Notably, when children are addicted with their smartphones, it demonstrates that they loss their chance to participate in outdoor activities that contribue to healthier lifestyles; therefore the likelihood of them developing physical disorders, such as obesidy, nearsightedness, and diabetes, has significantly increased. Moreover, their smartphoes are also detrimental to their meantal health. Because of addition, once their phones are deprived from them, they will suffer from anxiety, depression, and insomnia. In conclusion, the main reason why children spend their whole day on their smartphones is that they are vulneranle and easy to be attrated by the thrilling content inside. However, I firmly believe that it not only damages their physical haealth but also causes several mental disorders, forming unhealthy lifestyles.