Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for goverments to make is a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is argued that not enough recycling has been done on wastes produced by households. For some, the sole solution is to impose a law to mandate recycling. In this essay, we shall discuss how this law is not the sole option and how in my opinion, there are better methods to tackle this issue such as conditioning people to be proactive towards recycling by rewarding the action instead. On one hand, many would agree that recycling is a great way to reduce waste from individual households, however, not everyone is interested in doing so as this takes a lot of effort and much of their personal time that they could spend on other activities. Moreover, with no incentives, people become lazy and would rather throw their stuff away and get rid of things that they do not need as swiftly as possible. Therefore, imposing a law that they must recycle or be met with legal consequences can backfire quickly and cause unnecessary stress on the population. In contrast to legal punishment, if we reward the citizen's initiative to recycle, this would boost their overall morals and motivate them to participate in recycling more often. For example, it is very well known in Germany that their people would go to great lengths to collect plastic bottles and make their way to recycling stations, made easily available near every neighbourhood and supermarket store, and exchange those bottles for cash. Many Germans are proud when they are able to collect a lot of bottles and are very satisfied to get some cash back for them that it has become a national pastime. In conclusion, making it a legal requirement to recycle is not the only way to increase recycling and might even backfire. Therefore I think it is better to implement a reward system in place in order to encourage the population to have a positive attitude towards recycling and act accordingly.