Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Recently, many nations have ordered their youth to join military service after they have graduated from school. This idea interests many countries to apply this system for both men and women, if possible. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons for this discussion and give my perspective further. Firstly, adopting this military service system will benefit national defences. The military forces will be filled with young people who still have a strong and healthy body. It will make their country stronger than others who still have not adopted this system. For example, Russia, which has applied this system for almost 200 years ago, become one of the strongest military forces in the world. Their people have been trained since they were young and consequently, it has turned them stronger and smarter. Secondly, not all countries are ready to apply this military system to their people. There are still many nations who still struggle with poverty and famine. Applying this system will only cause them even more. For instance, countries in Africa such as, Sudan, which still faces food scarcity, usually have short and thin bodies. It will only produce weak people for the military force and not give much strength to their defences. In summary, there are many benefits to adopting this system to all nations, but not all nations are ready to apply it. I believe some countries such as Sudan should also adopt this system in the future, hence, they have to increase their human resources first by overcoming the poverty and famine problem.